Council of Fashion Designers of America – CFDA

The Council of Fashion Designers of America, Inc. – CFDA – is a not-for-profit trade association whose membership consists of more than 400 of America’s foremost womenswear, menswear, jewelry and accessory designers.

The CFDA foundation, Inc. is a separate not-for-profit organization, which was created to raise funds for charity and industry activities.

CFDA was found by Eleanor Lambert in 1962. Eleanor Lambert was one of the outstanding publicists in America in fashion, interior design, and other areas of the arts, philanthropy and contemporary taste. She was a pioneer in bringing American fashion and fashion designers to their present international stature, and played a significant role in establishing fashion as an influential element of contemporary living.


Born in Crawfordsville, Indiana, Miss Lambert attended John Herron Art Institute in Indianapolis and the Chicago Art Institute, studying sculpture and doing fashion sketches and fashion reporting to earn her way to a professional career in New York.

The CFDA Fashion Awards, which honors excellence in fashion design, is often called “the Oscars of fashion”. Nominations are submitted by the Fashion Guild, a group of over 1,500 CFDA members, fashion editors, retailers, and stylists. Award winners are voted on and announced at an annual black tie event held at Lincoln Center in New York City. Last year the event was broadcast on


Diane von Fürstenberg, CFDA president last year


Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
– 2008: Carolina Herrera – read more;
– 2009: Anna Sui;
– 2010: Michael Kors:
– 2011: Marc Jacobs – read more;
– 2012: Tommy Hilfiger;
– 2013: Vera Wang

Womenswear Award
– 2008: Francisco Costa for Calvin Klein;
– 2009: Kate & Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte:
– 2010: Marc Jacobs
– 2011: Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler;
– 2012: Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row;
-2013: Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler;

Menswear Award
– 2008: Tom Ford;
– 2009: Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders and Italo Zucchelli for Calvin Klein Collection;
– 2010: Marcus Wainwright and David Neville for Rag & Bone;
– 2011: Michael Bastian;
– 2012: Billy Reid;
– 2013: Thom Browne;

If you want to know more about CFDA, you can check CFDA FACEBOOK, TWITTER, PINTEREST INSTAGRAM and TUMBLR for more updates.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments